Remodeled Phostell's Barber Shop welcomes new barber with ribbon cutting

NEWTON, NC (Sept. 3, 2014) – Owner William Rice, known by all as Phostell, invites everyone to come by to meet barber Ryson Reed and to see the newly-renovated barber shop.  Phostell, Ryson Reed and family have re-vamped and re-decorated the front room of Phostell’s to brighten-up the atmosphere and give patrons that old-time barber shop feel.  You can get a haircut, trim or shave of any style you want at Phostell’s Barber Shop.

Phostell’s Barber Shop and Beauty Salon celebrated its re-grand opening with a ribbon cutting ceremony Wednesday. Newton Mayor Anne P. Stedman welcomed the Ryson Reed to Newton and wished the business much success.  “It is so good to see a downtown business update and expand, and it is especially rewarding to see that Phostell and Ryson have continued to improve the store on the heels of the façade work that was done by the Downtown Newton Development Association” said Mayor Stedman.

Ryson Reed and friend Olivia Stanek have relocated here from Ohio.  Reed was familiar with the area since his sister, Courtney Black, operates HG Fitness in Hickory.   “Even though I was a master barber in Ohio, I had to go through the whole licensing process here in North Carolina” says Reed.  Reed has been in North Carolina about five months and has been barbering at Phostell’s since July.  “I came from a rural area in Ohio and I really feel at home in this small-town atmosphere here in downtown Newton”, says Reed.

William Rice has operated Phostell’s at this Main Avenue location for over 17 years.  He owns the building, which houses the barber shop and a beauty salon.  He is glad to have Reed on board in the barber shop and is looking forward to adding a beautician in the near future to work in the salon. The barber shop is open Tuesday Wednesday and Friday from 9:00 am until 5:30 pm, 9:00 am until 8:00 pm on Thursdays, and Saturdays from 7:00 am until 4:00 pm.  For more information about Phostell’s Barber Shop, visit .

From left, City Council Members Tom Rowe and Mary Bess Lawing, Mayor Anne P. Stedman, Ryson Reed, William Rice, Olivia Stanek, Festival and Events Committee Member Mike Sherrill.