City accepting 2013 Unity Award nominations

NEWTON, NC (Feb. 25, 2013) – The City of Newton is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Unity Award. The award recognizes a Newton resident, business or industry that has contributed to racial and cultural harmony in the City of Newton.

Nominations should include specific acts and characteristics that qualify the individual for the award. The deadline to submit a nomination has been extended until noon Monday, April 1. The winner will be announced at the Unity Day Celebration on May 18 in Downtown Newton.

Unity Day is a celebration of the communities within the city. The celebration promotes positive multi-cultural relations and harmony throughout the City. The community stands together by raising its vision above barriers of color, culture and creed.

This year, the event will run from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. in downtown Newton. Come help us celebrate and embrace diversity through word, art, dance, music and food.

Past recipients of the Unity Award include Javier Chavez (2012), Dr. Allen Bandy Jr. (2011), Stanford Gabriel (2010), The Corner Table (2009), Pastor Dan Martin (2008), Dr. Benjamin Wofford (2007), Hannah Scott (2006), past Mayor Robert A. Mullinax (2005), Beth Bock and the late Clarence “Moe” Fox (2000), the late Phairlever Pearson (1999), Grace Gaither (1998), Johnny Gabriel (1997) and the Rev. Fred Thompson (1996). The City did not hold a celebration or present an award from 2001 to 2004.

Nomination forms are available here or by contacting Public Information Officer Julie Chang at or 828-695-4266.