Teen Leadership Newton students graduate from 2012 program

Teen Leadership Newton students graduate from 2012 program

NEWTON, NC -- The Teen Leadership Newton Class of 2012 successfully completed this year’s program on March 20 as the students made formal presentations to the Newton City Council regarding downtown revitalization, quality of life, and the economy.

This year’s group featured eight students from Newton-Conover High School and five students from Newton-Conover Health Science High School. The program, which focuses on developing tomorrow’s leaders today, included four three-hour sessions and the final session at the March 20 City Council meeting.

During the program, students learned more about their own personality traits, leadership skills, entrepreneurship, business and industry, and city government.

The City of Newton expresses its appreciation to the Newton-Conover City School System for its partnership in the Teen Leadership Newton program.

Mayor Anne P. Stedman and City Manager Todd Clark presented certificates of completion to the students at the March 20 meeting.

Pictured in the group photo from left to right: Ana Neville, Madison Hayes, Telijah Gibbs, Hannah Holt, Matthew Coulter, Christina Fasanello, Austin Minor, Mayor Anne P. Stedman, Javier Negrete, Abigail LeQuire, Trent Wuokko, Lillian LeQuire, and Madeline Terry; not pictured – Hayden Frye.