Planning Commission

The Planning Commission for the City of Newton and its Extraterritorial Planning Jurisdiction (ETJ) was created pursuant to Section 160A-146, 160A-361, and 160A-387 of the General Statutes of North Carolina and its amendments and supplements thereto. (Ord. No. 91.55, 1, 12-10-91)

The Planning Commission consists of seven members, who are persons of recognized experience and qualifications, and who hold no other official position. Five members are residents of the City of Newton, and two members are residents of the ETJ. The terms of office of the members are for three years, except that no member may serve more than four consecutive three-year terms. Current Planning Commission members are: Chairman Ken Simmons, Vice-Chairman Stan Gabriel, Donny Setzer, Jim Smith, Mark Stalnaker, and Melinda Travis.

The Planning Commission is responsible for making, adopting, and keeping current a zoning plan for the control of the height, area, bulk, location and use of buildings and premises in the City of Newton.

The Planning Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month at City Hall.