Appearance Commission

Appearance Commission members 02-2018

(From left): Parks and Recreation Director Sandra Waters, Andrea Ortiz, Adele Gooble, Elliot Alderman, David Graves, Council Member Ed Sain, and Sherry Sigmon.

The Newton Appearance Commission is a seven-member volunteer commission. Members are appointed by the Mayor and City Council for two-year terms. Members must reside in the City of Newton. The commission meets at 7 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month downstairs at the Newton Recreation Center on South Brady Avenue.

The Appearance Commission makes careful study of the visual problems and needs of the City and the area comprising the extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction, and makes any plans and carries out any programs that enhance and improve the visual quality and aesthetic characteristics of the City and surrounding area.
If you have questions or suggestions, please send an email to

Beginning in the spring, the Appearance Commission accepts nominations for the Yard of the Month honor which recognizes attractive, landscaped and overall aesthetically pleasing yards.